Vintners Quality Alliance (VQD)

Definition - What does Vintners Quality Alliance (VQD) mean?

The Vintners Quality Alliance or VQA is a regulatory body from Canada which guarantees high quality and authenticity of Canadian wines made in the regions of Ontario and British Columbia. It allows for the creation of sub-regions, as some specific geographic locations are unique with varying climate and soils. This follows the similar concept of terroir in France.

WineFrog explains Vintners Quality Alliance (VQD)

The Vintners Quality Alliance is similar to the AOC and DOC regulatory systems in Europe. The laws and requirements not only protect consumers, but also producers and tradition.

VQA wines are required to be made from Vitis vinifera grapes and other approved hybrid varieties. Specific yields must also be managed, and the fruit is also required to meet specific sugar (Brix) levels. For a wine to receive a VQA designation, it undergoes testing by the regulating body.

The recognized VQA regions and their sub-regions are as follows:

Ontario Appellations

  • Lake Erie
  • Prince Edward County
  • Niagara Peninsula

Ontario 1st collective sub-appellation - Niagara Escarpment and its sub-appellations:

  • Short Hills Bench
  • Twenty Mile Bench
  • Beamsville Bench

2nd collective sub-appellation - Niagara-on-the-Lake and its sub-appellations:

  • Niagara River
  • Niagara Lakeshore
  • Four Mile Creek
  • St. David's Bench
  • Vinemount Ridge
  • Creek Shores
  • Lincoln Lakeshore

British Columbia Appellations

  • Okanagan Valley:
    • sub-appellation: Golden Mile
  • Similkameen Valley
  • Fraser Valley
  • Vancouver Island
  • Gulf Islands
Share this:

Connect with us

Never Miss an Article!

Subscribe to our free newsletter now - The Best of WineFrog.