Noble Wine

Definition - What does Noble Wine mean?

Noble wine is a wine which is made from the 18 international grape varieties that are widely planted in the major wine regions of the world. These are grapes which, under regulations by AOC or DOC standards, were the only varietals permitted to make wine in specific regions. These are grapes which thrive in the climates of these regions and are known as noble grapes.

WineFrog explains Noble Wine

Noble wines used to be a selected group of wines made from noble grapes. These wines were originally regionally specific. However, today, the category of noble wines has expanded.

For instance, in Bordeaux, the classic varieties of grapes are; Cabernet Sauvignon, Cabernet Franc, Merlot, Malbec and Petit Bordeaux. These are regional grapes, grown out of their ability to thrive in the region, but also the only varietals permitted by AOC standards. They are noble grapes which make noble wine. However, these varietals can also be found around the globe; in the US, Australia, Argentina, Chile and Canada, to name a few. These wines from around the globe of Bordeaux varietals are also noble wines, aka, International Varieties.

Here are the 18 official noble wines.

Red Noble Wine Varietals

  1. Pinot Noir
  2. Grenache
  3. Nebbiolo
  4. Cabernet Sauvignon
  5. Merlot
  6. Sangiovese
  7. Syrah
  8. Malbec
  9. Tempranillo

White Noble Wine Varietals

  1. Sauvignon Blanc
  2. Viognier
  3. Chardonnay
  4. Sémillon
  5. Moscato
  6. Chenin Blanc
  7. Riesling
  8. Gewurztraminer
  9. Pinot Grigio

Traditionally, Noble wines were narrowed down to six varietals, 3 whites and 3 reds; Merlot, Cabernet Sauvignon, Pinot Noir; Sauvignon Blac, Riesling and Chardonnay.

Share this:

Connect with us

Never Miss an Article!

Subscribe to our free newsletter now - The Best of WineFrog.