Fourth Growth

Definition - What does Fourth Growth mean?

A Fourth Growth is part of the classification of Bordeaux wines which was requested by Napoleon III in 1855. This famous event was the Bordeaux Wine Official Classification of 1855. The wines of Bordeaux were ranked from First Growths to Fifth Growths. These are also called crus. The ranking was mainly based on the reputation of the wineries and their consistent quality output of popular wines.

WineFrog explains Fourth Growth

When the Bordeaux Wine Official Classification of 1855 was in effect, the wines which were rated included many red wines from the subregion of Médoc. The only exception was Château Haut-Brion from the region of Graves.

According to many wine professionals, the difference in wines from Third to Fifth Growths is not much. The only difference is the price. So how were they ranked? To put it in easier terms to understand, the wines from the ranked wineries in 1855 were graded. So therefore, the wines in the Fourth Growth classification from a B to a B-.

Share this:

Connect with us

Never Miss an Article!

Subscribe to our free newsletter now - The Best of WineFrog.