Definition - What does Lombardy mean?

Lombardy is an up and coming wine region in central Italy that is known for its four sub regions of Franciacorta, Oltrepò Pavese, Laguna and Valtellina. These regions make a variety of wines like sparkling whites called Franciacorata, serious reds called Valtellina, and unusual wines like sforzato.

There are several appellations that produce small artisan wines.

WineFrog explains Lombardy

Located between the Po Basin and the Alps, the Lombardy climate is moderate and has microclimate diversity between the different regions. The capital of the region is the bustling city of Milan, but the rest of the region is made up of small towns and small boutique wineries. The region is landlocked but does have several lakes and the Alps to the north that provide some climate regulation, making it ideal for growing wine grapes.


In Franciacorta, the moderate climate from Lake Iseo make conditions perfect for growing grapes like Pinot Bianco, Pinot Nero and Chardonnay to make sparkling white wine similar to champagne.

Oltrepò Pavese

In Oltrepò Pavese, vintners produce what is recognized as the Lombardians' favorite wine, made in the metodo classico tradition (a classic tank method for fine small batch wines) using Barbera and Pinot Nero grapes for reds and Moscato and Resling grapes for whites.


Valtellina is known for their red wines, especially ones produced from Nebbiolo (aka Chiavennasca) grapes. The soil is different in Valtellina because the vineyards are located so close to the Alps and they produce smaller crop yields that makes lighter, crisp wines.


The Laguna region is located on Lake Garda and is home to white wines and white blends from Chiaretto and a special clone called “da Lugana” made from Trebbiano grapes.

Share this:

Connect with us

Never Miss an Article!

Subscribe to our free newsletter now - The Best of WineFrog.