Third Growth

Definition - What does Third Growth mean?

The term third growth(s) (Troisemes Crus), came under the Bordeaux Wine Official Classification of 1855. This was when Emperor Napoleon III requested a classification system for the best Bordeaux wines. Wines were then ranked according to their importance, from first to fifth growths. Therefore, third growth wines were those from specific estates (Chateaus) ranked of third importance according to their reputation and price.

WineFrog explains Third Growth

Under the request of Napoleon III, exceptional wines of the Bordeaux region were to be classified in order of importance to the region, popularity and price. The ranking starts at first growth (Premiers Crus) to Fifth growths (Cinquiemes Crus). Third growth means that these wines were ranked third in importance based on certain wine estates, their reputation and price. The ranking mainly pertains to red wines. However there are a couple white wines of Bordeaux which also made the list, including the sweet wines of Sauternes and Barsac.

Since the Bordeaux Wine Official Classification of 1855, there has not been much change to the rankings.

The Third Growth Estates are:

  • Chateau Kirwan of Margaux
  • Lagrange from St. Julien
  • Langoa from St. Julien
  • Giscours of Margaux
  • St. Exupery of Margaux
  • Chateau Cantenac-Brown also from Margaux
  • Chateau Boyd-Cantenac in Margaux
  • Chateau Palmer in Margaux
  • Chateau Lalagune in Haut-Medoc
  • Chateau Desmirail in Margaux
  • Chateau Dubignon in Margaux
  • Chateau Calon-Segure in St. Estephe
  • Chateau Ferriere in Margaux
  • Chateau Marquis d'Alesme Becker in Margaux
Share this:

Connect with us

Never Miss an Article!

Subscribe to our free newsletter now - The Best of WineFrog.